2012-2013 Fellows


Inaugural Cohort Completes the
ASM-BWF Science Teaching Fellowship Program

Washington, DC (August 7, 2013) — The American Society for Microbiology (ASM) is pleased to congratulate the first cohort  to complete the  ASM-BWF Science Teaching Fellows Program, a new professional development initiative to prepare doctoral-trained graduate students, postdoctoral fellows, and early-career scientists for science teaching positions at non-doctoral institutions (community colleges, minority-serving institutions, regional or state colleges, and primary undergraduate institutions).

2012-2013 ASM-BWF Science Teaching Fellows

Sarah Barchinger

Nazir Barekzi

Caryl Ann Becerra

Emily Boice

James Brooks

Bradley Coleman

Alison Conrad

Sarah Council

Debra Davis

Amanda Duffus

Amaya Garcia Costas

Amy Gargis

Brian Gentry

Ariel Grostern

Christopher Gulvik

Kelley Healey

Jared Heffron

Joyce Ibana

Christopher Jang

Danese Joiner

Mary Keckler

Kyle Kemege

Erin Lentz

Rebeccah Lijek

Rasha Maal-Bared

Laura MacDonald

Joeli Marrero

Allyson Martinez

Amanda Martino

Rachel McEgan

Melanie Melendrez

Timothy Meredith

Kathleen Metzler

Matthew Pace

Nazzy Pakpour

Warunya Panmanee

Sivakumar Periasamy

Arthur Pightling

Simara Price

Zarraz Quick

Sarah Rosario

Janet Rowe

Dhara Sachdev

Veronica Segarra

Christine Shulse

Jessica Silverman

Avanti Sinha

James Jordan Steel

Kerry-Ann Stewart

Scott Tanner

Colby Weeks

Gerard White

Rachelle Williams

Regina Wilson

Ann Womack

Fifty-five fellows took part in the 2012-2013 Science Teaching Fellows Program, a training experience that combined structured-mentoring with activities focused on four areas: 

  • Teaching science to undergraduates
  • Curriculum and/or course design and assessment
  • Student-centered, active and engaged learning
  • Students as research collaborators 

The activities followed an intensive format of webinars featuring in-depth discussions of concepts and best practices from experts; pre- and post-webinar assignments, including reading, skill-building, and reflection activities; and participation in an online community designed to share readings and resources and connect fellows with experts.

In 2011, this format was lauded in Vision and Change in Undergraduate Biology Education: A Call to Action, a report by the American Association for the Advancement of Science. The report commended the ASM Education Board for establishing the format as a process that (i) helps participants maintain contact with program leadership and fellow participants and (ii) “may be much more successful in informing and supporting changes in teaching practices in biology departments.”

The ASM-BWF Science Teaching Fellows Program is managed by the ASM Education Board – a former Presidential Awardee for Excellence in Mentoring in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Education – and sponsored by the Burroughs Wellcome Fund.

The 2013-2014 Science Teaching Fellows Program begins October 1, 2013. Learn more at www.facultyprograms.org.

The ASM is the world’s largest scientific society of individuals interested in the microbiological sciences. Its mission is to advance the microbiological sciences as a vehicle for understanding life processes and to apply and communicate this knowledge for the improvement of health and environmental and economic well-being worldwide.



Map of 2012-2013 ASM Science Teaching Fellows
Science Teaching Fellows can be found all over the world. Zoom in on the map to see if there is a Science Teaching Fellow nearby with whom you can connect!



2012-2013 ASM Science Teaching Fellows Program Steering Committee

Chair, Loretta Brancaccio-Taras, Kingsborough Community College of the City College of New York 
Patricia Baynham, St. Edwards University
Jennifer Bennett, Otterbein Univeristy
Kai (Billy) Hung, Eastern Illinois University

ASM Education Board Liasons:
Neil Baker, Ohio State University Emeritus (Chair, Education Board)
Cynthia Nau Cornelissen, Virginia Commonwealth University (Chair, ASM Committee on Graduate and Postdoctoral Education)